Gluten Free Yorkshire Puddings

 

As you may have noticed I am a Yorkshire pudding fiend! Whenever the opportunity arises to have one of these delicious little beauties, I pounce! I have long searched for the ultimate Yorkshire pudding – and finally found it. However, cooking Sunday lunch for a Coeliac sufferer threw a spanner in the works!

Finding a half decent recipe was a challenge in itself. Many called for a frightening array of nasty sounding ingredients and the majority required a laborious amount of effort. After several hours of mind-numbing research, Coeliac UK (a fantastic charity) appeared to have the answer.

Making a few alterations, the result was incredible. You would be very hard-pushed to find fault with these Yorkshire puddings. Sure, they don’t rise as spectacularly as the standard variety, but these little wonders are just as delicious. The use of self-raising flour and skimmed milk ensures they are super light and fluffy!

Even if you are not forced to follow a gluten-free diet – I urge you to try these. Their lightness means you can eat far more without the guilt!

Gluten Free Yorkshire Puddings

Makes 12 Small

Ingredients:
50g Corn Flour
50g Gluten Free Self Raising Flour
3 Medium Eggs, Beaten
140ml Skimmed Milk
Vegetable Oil
Salt

Method:
1) Pre-heat the oven to 215C. Pour a thin layer of oil into a heavy-gauge 12 muffin tin. Place in the oven to bring up to temperature.
2) Meanwhile make the batter. Sift the corn flour and self-raising flour into a bowl and add a pinch of salt.
3) Add the eggs and whisk to form a thick batter. Gradually add the milk whilst whisking to form a smooth batter. Try to incorporate some air into the mixture whilst whisking.
4) Once your muffin tin is up to temperature, remove from the oven and pour the batter between the 12 muffin holes.
5) Return to the oven for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and well risen.

Enjoy with a big Sunday roast!

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Yorkshire Puddings

  1. I remember my first trip to the UK some 30 years ago. My Dad (and everybody else in France) told me how bad the food would be there and that I couldn’t eat anything and BLABLABLA. So I was really prejudiced. But then, I had my first Indian dish in London and my first Chinese in Lecester AND THEN to top it all off my first roast with Yorshire pudding, mint sauce and gallons of gravy. I came home and told my Dad he should fuck off :0)

  2. Haha! I’m pleased you left with a good impression. The UK is seen by some as a bit of a culinary graveyard – however, I am pleased this is far from the truth!!

Leave a Reply

